UB’s Department of Electrical Engineering was established in 1978 has had five areas of study (concentration) is the concentration of A / Electric Power Systems, the concentration of B / Electronics, the concentration of C / Telecommunications, of concentration D / Control System, and the concentration of E / Informatics Computer. There are four labs that specifically support the implementation of the teaching-learning process in the concentration of A, one of which is the Electric Power System Laboratory and Electrical Workshop. Electrical Power Systems Laboratory serves two types of lab work, namely 1)​​. Practicum electrical installations for all concentrations, and 2). Practicum Electric Power Transmission Installation and specifically for students of the concentration of A. Practical electric power transmission is one lab course at a concentration of A. This practicum module can be used to determine the relationship between the electrical quantities in two different places (the sending end with the receipt).

In addition to serving as ptaktikum, the laboratory is also used for research faculty, students S1 and S2 as well as for community service activities by faculty and students of S1. Research successfully conducted is the manufacture of electric energy saving devices. Picture below is a prototype electric energy saving devices that have been made